Lighthouse Public House 24th August 2021 at 19:30


Present were – Adrian, Stewart, Dale, Tony S, Tony T, Pete, Paul E, Mike, Andy, Luke, Bob and Dave.

Meeting minutes taken by Adrian Priest

1 – Apologies:   John E, Chris L, Ravi, Manvith and Joyce.

2 – 2019 Minutes: Read and approved.

3 – Matters arising:  None.

4 – Officers reports:

Chairman – Stewart

Due to the closure of all clubs due to the covid pandemic all officer reports were sent out with the 2021 agenda to save time and this can be viewed on the web site.

The Worcester league is still undecided on the completion of the 2019 season and are holding an EGM on September 7th – John Edge will attend on behalf of Halesowen.

Stewart also stated this will be his last year as chairman.

Stewart asked everyone to read the safeguarding policy of the club.

Treasurer’s report – Dale

Dale circulated a copy of the accounts and these were approved. He suggested fees stay the same and we only use Tuesdays, although we could use Thursdays if needed depending on what the other leagues may do.

Dale has decided to stand down at the end of the night.

 Full: £60

Concessionary: £42

Social and junior: £25


Above fees (except Social) include ECF bronze membership and are reduced by £18 (£9 for juniors) where ECF membership has been bought directly

This proposal was approved by the meeting without opposition

Safeguarding Officer - John E

Read and approved.

5 - Captains reports:

Pre circulated before AGM


 6 - Award of Trophies for 2019-2020

A - Reg Beasley – Finlay

B - Quick win – Pete

C - Kevin Ryder trophy – Wolves one

D - Grade increase trophy – Manvith in 2019, Silas in 2020. Manvith to hold the Trophy until the next AGM

E - Player of the season – Paul Evans

7 - Team Entries for 2021-2022

With only 11 players committed to play chess when the B,ham league reopened in October it was agreed after some sensible debate and not knowing the strength or composition  of other teams etc. to enter the following teams:

DIV 1 – 6 players one team

Highest of the bottom 2 teams - 4 players one team.


8 - Team Captains for 2021-2022

B’ham 1 – Adrian Priest

Other team – Tony Taylor.


9 - Election of Officers


The following officers were (re-)elected en bloc:

Chairman: Stewart – last year

Treasurer:  - NEW – Paul Evans supported by Tony Stokes.

Webmaster: Pete

Safeguarding Officer: John E

Fixtures Secretary: Captains of each team will deal with any issues.

League Representatives:

            BDCL: Stewart

            WDCL: Pete

            Worcester: John E

            Dudley: Stewart


10 - Summer Schedule 2021

None due to Covid


11 -  Any Other Business

Adrian thanked Stewart for all his hard work in preparation for the AGM

Thanks also to dale for his services.

No free drink due to reduced numbers and finances.

Luke offered to assist Pete to make the Website more professional looking.


Meeting closed at 9.00pm